Black Friday Outreach Report

The Holiday season is upon us. It’s that special time of the year when we get to spend good quality time with our friends and families, feasting on some really great food, creating special holiday memories and traditions that last a lifetime. Some will celebrate the kick off of Christmas season by standing in line for hours in the freezing cold weather waiting for stores to open their doors in hopes of saving a few bucks on a few special items. This tradition in America is known as Black Friday.  Yes, we have all seen or heard the stories of the Black Friday chaos, people being trampled to death trying to rush into stores, getting in fist fights for jumping places in line or rioting over a 2 dollar waffle maker. These Black Friday events have done an excellent job of exposing to the world how utterly wicked our hearts are at the core.

Jeremiah 17:9 (KJV) The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?

For anyone who hasn’t seen it first hand, watch for yourself the consumer greed in a few of these videos.

The point of showing these is not to condemn everyone who participates in Black Friday or to say that everyone who participates in these Black Friday events has this mentality, however in regards to Christmas I must ask…..Is this the reason for the Christmas season? What are we really celebrating? Christmas is about the True Gift, the Giver of Life. Christmas is about the birth of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior. Christ was sent here by God to reveal Himself to us, to show us how to live and love, and through His death and resurrection provided His believers an entrance into eternal life with God in heaven.

It is the Gospel of Jesus Christ which has transformed our lives, and it is because of God’s Amazing Love for us that we choose to go out and share His love with those that may not know Him. Praise the Lord for providing such an awesome opportunity to share the Gospel. People will literally be standing in line for hours with nothing to do.

What an amazing turnout for the event. 25 brothers and sisters, representing five different churches from Charlotte and surrounding areas came out to share Jesus Christ with the patrons in line. Despite the cold weather, the hardened hearts of the people in line, some of us being pregnant, some of us going out sharing the Gospel for the first time, some of our bellies in turmoil from all the food we had eaten earlier, despite some of us having to leave family members at home we rarely get to see, and despite our own fear of man and the unexpectedness of what the night had in store we were faithful and obedient to go out and follow His ordered footsteps for us in sharing the Gospel.

Thank you to everyone who came out. Thank you to everyone who could not make it, but that prayed for us. The Lord definitely answered our prayers in providing resources (tracts, Bibles, workers, people to talk to). It was extremely encouraging to see so many new faces, especially the sisters that showed up. Too often when we go out, (not by choice) it seems like a boys club of evangelists with no sisters present. I think it’s extremely important to have females to talk to other females as well as men. People receive females very well. Especially last night, it was awesome and went over very well with all the patrons to see your lovely faces sharing the love of Jesus Christ.  Thanks again to everyone who came out.

This was my first ever Black Friday experience, and I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Thanks to brothers Norman and Jonathan for supplying over 1,000 Christmas Cash, over 1000 Gospel Of Johns and about 500 miscellaneous Gospel Tracts to pass out to the patrons. Here is a good link on why we use Gospel Tracts.

One thing I noticed right away is that the majority of the people in line were really on edge and seemed very hostile towards talking with us which is quite the opposite of our normal witnessing encounters. Once we were able to get into a few conversations you could tell why. People were so afraid of others line jumping or someone getting over on them that their guards were up more than normal. I have gotten feedback from several of the saints that were out that night and here a few of their stories they wanted to share:

I want to tell you about Diane, a 15 year old girl that approached Charity, Jamie and I after one of us gave her a tract. She asked what it was about and we told her it was about the gospel and did she know what the gospel was. She said no and then when we asked her if she’d heard of Jesus. She said “Oh yes, I go to church.” We asked her how someone could be sure they would go to heaven and she said they would need to “accept Jesus into their heart”.  So we spent time explaining a little more in depth to her the true gospel and then I asked her if there was something that we could pray for her and she said “just for me to know God more”! Hallelujah! What better thing to pray for?!

-Ashley

What an awesome night! This has been my fourth year doing this and I’m blown away how God is growing the number of laborers each year! I got saved in April 2007 and Ashley and I were talking about that first black friday of Nov. 2007 and how I was so burden for the lost I went to Best Buy when it was in the University area by myself and handed out tracts. This is how good God is— I had only 100 tracts so I started at the front of the line and went down the line to the very end and every single person took 1 tract and I had enough for every single person in line! Praise the Lord!

Now fast forward to 2011 and there are 25 Christians out there pray, passing out tract and witnessing one on one!!!! Wow all praise is due to God. I am grateful for everyone who came out in the cold to glorify Christ.

There were many one on one witness encounters I was a part of last night but I want to share quickly about one. I witnessed to a young lady who was Buddhist from Laos. She believed that once she dies she would be reincarnated, when i asked her what she would come back as she said a human she hoped! What it all came down to is she valued her life so I told her about Jesus Christ and how she can be made right with Him and have eternal life! She had never heard the gospel before! Someone gave her a gospel of John  before I met her plus one of her friends was echoing what I was telling her! But you see her friend never shared the good news of the cross with her. The gospel is the power of God to salvation and one of the biggest mistakes of the Christian walk is saying “my life style shows people that I have God in my life, so they should want to know Him because of my life”. The problem is there are plenty of moral people out there that don’t know Christ and without Him will spend eternity in hell if they don’t repent and trust in the Lord.

– Norman

We had a great time sharing the Gospel last night. One guy I spoke to who is 17 told me that it was an eye opener because he names Christ but does not live it out in his life. I gave him a professing believer tract. I encouraged him to email me if he ever had any questions. He seemed very thankful we were out there and he seemed very taken back about Gods timing…pray for him his name is Jonathan.

– Shawn

Please pray for Brandon and Tyrese. We had some great conversations about the Gospel. We told them about the true meaning of Christmas and asked if they thought they were good enough to go to heaven. We talked and explained their separation from God and took them to the cross and made much of Him!  I gave them a Gospel of John and tract at the end and told them I would pray for them. Pray that God will continue to speak to them and they will repent and put their trust in Jesus Christ.

– Jonathan

Thank you Jesus for all of these praises! The Lord opened up one of most amazing conversations I had ever experienced while witnessing. In the line for Best Buy, a guy named Stephen asked what I had just gave him. I explained it was Christmas Cash, the REAL reason for the season  and then asked him if he ever heard the Gospel, he said he never had. I then walked him through God’s Law, and then made much of Jesus Christ’s Life, Death and Resurrection, and then shared my testimony. I wish yall could have seen the way his eyes lit up. His co-worker had been trying to get him to come to church for the past few months, and was trying to share his faith with him. Stephen was hungry for God’s Word and I could see why God placed us in each other’s path. He was raised atheist and wasn’t sure someone like him could be assured of salvation, he thought when he died he would go to purgatory, which I told him was manmade and wasn’t biblical. He got offended at first, and said that it was my opinion, I quickly pointed him back to scripture, and said it wasn’t my opinion, to check the Bible. He was very thankful for our conversation. He expressed great gratitude for our conversation and the style in which he was approached and the engaging conversation. He showed great concern about his own salvation and the assurance of such.  I gave him my contact info.  Please pray that He would cry out to God and hopefully reach out to me if he has any questions.

All and all the night was a success. Anytime we are able to go out and share the Word and Truth of God to others we are bringing God glory. I hope these stories encourage those reading to go out and share His Love with others.

Romans 10:13-15  For “whoever calls on the name of the LORD shall be saved. 14 How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher? 15 And how shall they preach unless they are sent? As it is written:“ How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the gospel of peace, Who bring glad tidings of good things!”

Not to us, O Lord, not to us, but to your name give glory, for the sake of your steadfast love and your faithfulness! – Psalm 115:1

To God be The Glory!

Comments
2 Responses to “Black Friday Outreach Report”
  1. Mitch says:

    Great Post. Glad to hear about the outreach and that it went well. praise God. yes the Reason for the season is Christ. To God Be the Glory. Amen!

  2. Great report, Brian! Praise the Lord for so many saints getting out there to proclaim the Gospel. It’s encouraging there were some first timers out there and I hope to meet them soon!

Leave a Reply

